Skip to content
September 25, 2008 / yolynne

Plurking Makes My Wish Come True!

When you get to ask a kid during my time (not so long ago) what they want to become when they grow up, they usually give the answer “Paglaki ko po, gusto ko pong maging artista” (When I grow up, I want to become a Celebrity”) I remember this to be the common answer in Little Miss Philippines beauty pageant in Eat Bulaga.  But a lot of kids today are not anymore waiting for adulthood  just to become a Celebrity, they can easily become one even as a child.  With the surmounting number programs like Pinoy Dream Academy Little Dreamers, Little Big Star  and many more worth mentioning, dreams of becoming a star is easily becoming a reality. Becoming a star exposes your life to the public, it sometimes creates emotional turbulence in the life of the child and later on manifests in their adult life but it also gives you the enjoyment of being recognized which usually ends up experiencing special treatments.

I am a private person, but I also enjoy getting attention from time to time, which usually depends on my mood. Then I thought, what if I just want to be a star for a day or a week maybe, enough time for me to get into the groove and enjoy being a different person, away from the stressful job I have at the moment? Eventually, Plurk made this dream come true.  Plurk at the moment is the favorite micro blogging tool of Filipino bloggers. Filipinos are generally classified as talkative people or are one of the most expressive kind of people. So when Plurk came around, it instantly became a hit.  Some of my twitter mates even deleted their accounts in favor of Plurk, but I still heart Twitter (I use if for a different purpose, and because it is fed in my facebook status, I don’t want my facebook friends to see what I plurk coz they might end up being shocked hehehe) while others synchronized their plurks and twitters thru twitterfeed for easy maintenance.

Plurk gave me the opportunity to be a different me, to become a Celebrity (with fans mind you).  I usually end up laughing by myself and getting amused that I am able to give out comments that the real me usually don’t say.  Plurkers who changed their nicks to their fave stars usually end up engaging in a long thread of plurks regarding the past, present and possible future of the star whose name they have changed their Plurk nicks into.

One by one, people have changed their nick into celebrities Ana Roces, Rita Avila, Rosanna Roces, Isko Moreno, Kuya Germs and yours truly as Teri Aunor hahahaha.

So why did I chose Teri Aunor as my first nick?  It’s because if given the chance to become a celebrity, I chose to become a Comedian.  I love comedians, with Mr. Bean gaining the top spot on my list and as for Pinoys,  Michael V. is the best.  I also love watching Comedy shows like Bubble Gang and Nuts Entertainment.  Also worth mentioning is my current habit of watching Camera Cafe on Youtube.

How about you, do you also want to be a Celebrity when you grow up?

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Yusuf / Sep 25 2008 3:32 pm

    Hi Mam Yoly:

    I liked the design of your blog.

    The contents are great.

    Hope toread more next tym

    Yusuf

  2. yolynne / Sep 26 2008 5:55 am

    @Yusuf: thanks sir =)

  3. Joseph Paltingca / Oct 16 2008 2:57 pm

    Yolyne, there is something in you as a “CHARISMATIC WRITER”.
    Touching the heart, the senses of the readers. Yes you are on the right track.
    For me, It great that we know you thru Gawad Kalinga! Hi its me,
    Tito Jo Paltingca

Leave a Reply

