Skip to content
March 16, 2008 / yolynne

Pacquiao, the Pinoy hero in boxing!

When things go wrong, as they sometimes will,
When the road you’re trudging seems all up hill,
When the funds are low and the debts are high,
And you want to smile, but you have to sigh,
When care is pressing you down a bit,
Rest! if you must; but don’t you quit.

I don’t know if you are familiar with the above exerpt of the Don’t Quit poem, but I surely had my share of memorizing it during our CAT days in High School.

If people will ask me what I will remember of my high school days, our Citizen’s Army Training experiences will always be noted. I was not an officer but became a member of the model squad, it was there that I felt some leadership skill being awakened in me. As a Cadette, our weekly prayer had been the Don’t Quit poem, later did I realize that I really have memorized it in my heart. I applied my “Ma’am I won’t Quit Ma’am” (I came from an all girls school that’s why) response to almost all challenges that came my way.

Today, Manny Pacquiao made his fellow Filipinos proud again after winning on a very slim margin from his opponent Marquez. I remember him telling the interviewer that “The business is finished” (he has a very unique way of expressing his emotions in the English language), meaning he would like to impart that, the said match could probably be his last. Well, at least that was a grand way of ending his career.

My mother-in-law prayed while she watched Manny during the match, I saw a lot of Filipinos glued to their TV screens to witness their boxing hero’s match and waiting to feel victorious as well in the end.

Manny is an image of a Filipino who is not a quitter in his boxing matches (the recent match was the most exciting match I saw, but all his matches are exciting as well).

Hoping for my fellow Filipinos not to be quitters in LIFE. Remember, after all the chaos and trouble, there will always be VICTORY; because if there’s NO PAIN, then there’s NO GAIN. We don’t need to wait for every match of Manny to make us feel good and proud to be Filipinos, we should do our own thing in our small little way, because all of us are heroes, for as long as we always have good intentions as well as compasionate hearts.

Leave a Reply

