Skip to content
November 3, 2010 / yolynne

MBS4 Experience – “Glass Half Full or Half Empty”

Episode 1 –  “Glass Half Full or Half Empty”


This is the first of the series of blogs that would be my contribution at the recently concluded 4th Mindanao Bloggers Summit.

First of all, my experience with MBS4 began not only on the Summit proper but way back when ideas were still being formed since I was also part of the organizing team.

I would like to express my thoughts not just as a participant but as part of the team of organizers as well.  I will be sharing the things I have learned while organizing in my future blog posts.

Before anything else, I believe our Mayor’s very timely and inspiring speech needed the much focus.

The words that I remember from his speech were these, (though not verbatim but the essence is still the same, if you think it needs some correction, please do inform me)

mayor celso lobregat

Zamboanga City's Mayor, Hon. Celso Lorenzo Lobregat

After doing so much to make the city look good, in just one incident you sometimes feel it’s all gone in a snap. But the way people think and see is Attitudinal, something we cannot do anything about… It’s up to the people, to you as to how you will look at it, it’s either a glass half full or a glass half empty ” – Mayor Celso Lobregat

This made me ask myself the same question and some other more,
Am I living life as if it’s half full or it’s half empty?
How thankful have I been these past few years that I ended up living here instead of   in another city?
Do I complain a lot of not having what others have that I don’t, because I reside here?
Have I done my part as an ordinary citizen to try and make special and great things as my contribution for a better Zamboanga City?
Am I contributing to make Zamboanga City look good or the other way around?

Oh, lots of questions were entering my mind as fast as the speed of light.

The Mayor was very effective in his speech, he was able to reach out both to the audience’s heart and mind.  You know how passionate he is with his work because it clearly showed with how he, like a great salesman.. presented the facts about our city with pride and confidence.  I have heard him deliver speeches a few times in the past and judging from the ones I have witnessed, he sure did a hole in one with this one.

Bloggers from other cities who attended were impressed and inspired.  Blogie, the founder of the Mindanao Bloggers Community even said, it would have been better if more people have witnessed it, well so did I. Though there will be lots of blog posts that will be written about the event, it sure feels more special if you have heard it live!

In another part of his speech, he especially mentioned  how people are spreading viral news on social networks like Facebook.  He told the crowd how clueless he is of why people would record and even post the video of the incident that happened in Brgy. Talisayan with the mentally ill man  going amok, stabbing some children and teachers and dying.  It was as if the one who posted it was proud of what happened.

“With great Freedom comes great Responsibility”

This made me think how good or bad  I am doing as a social networker?  Am I a good influencer to my facebook friends or a bad one?  How am I handling well my Freedom on the Internet, is it with arrogance or humility?

Mayor Celso Lobregat’s speech left a lot of questions to be answered, something you cannot do in just one sitting.  I think it will take me a few months of soul searching and a lot of “alone sitting by the Paseo del Mar” moments to put pieces together and take the challenge.

To our Mayor Celso Lorenzo Lobregat, I’m giving your speech 5 stars!

Special mention to the sponsors and organizers of the 4th Mindanao Bloggers, We wouldn’t have done it without you!

TVI Resource Development (Phils) Inc.
City of Zamboanga
Seed Interactive
ELearning Centre Inc
Comtech Institute
Blogie Robillo
Avel Manansala and the SOCCSKSARGEN Bloggers

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

