Skip to content
March 11, 2008 / yolynne

What became of me after I got married?

What kind of woman did I become after I got married? A very unusual question to ask oneself isn’t it?, funny but I thought about it while reading this http://filipinaimages.com/filipina-women-after-marriage/.

I agree that after we got married changes was evident in me, but what happened was a sign of maturity that I welcomed with an open heart. I guess we (my husband and I) don’t have what we call the traditional Filipino marriage (meaning, the man supports the family financially and the girl is to stay at home and be a housewife, busy taking care of the kids and managing the household).

Before my husband and I got married, we agreed that our ways will stay the same no more no less, no rules set, because we promised to live life one day at a time and solve challenges (I don’t like referring to them as problems) as they arise after thorough analysis. My husband gets to keep his own money (he earned it anyway) and I get to keep mine (that is because I decided to be a working wife and earn as well), we are better off that way because we hate discussing about joint finances. We hate debating on who needs to pay what and how much should one give to buy stuff. I know and sense it if my husband needs my help financially and vice versa. We trust our senses and mutual understanding to make our marriage work, which is I think what marriage and union is really all about.. making things work with unity and cooperation. Through my marriage I was able to know more of my capacity and limitations as a person. I learned how to live a well balanced life and learned how to set priorities as well. As the saying goes, it always takes two to tango, I guess I am just blessed to have my husband as my partner and me as his wife.

Wishing for every Filipino married couple a union full of understanding and love.

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

powered by performancing firefox

P.S.
Sorry to my husband for the grammatical error in my post which I corrected already. Di kasi ako ekspert mag ingles.. always trying hard heheh

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

